
Scan Line for Individual Declaration Voucher 

66 – Character Scan line.

On the document measuring 8½” x 3 5/8”, the scan line must be printed on Line 63 of a 66 – line page, positions 11 
through 76.

AAAABXXXCCCCCCCCCDXEEEXXFFFFFFFFXGGGGGGGGXHHHHHHHHHIXJJJJJJJJJJKXL

Example
19059   4358585653 665  12312009 00000000 4568565420 00002500007 5  

X = Blank Space
A = Form number - 4 digits - the form number is - 1905
B = Check Digit on the form number - 9 
C = Primary Account Number - 9 digits
D = Check Digit for primary account number. Modulus 10 check digit routine – 1 digit
E = Tax Type - 665
F = Taxable Period – 8 digits
G = Open field – This field will be all zeroes – 8 digits
H = Secondary Social Security Number – 9 digits
I = Check Digit for secondary number – Modulus 10 check digit routine – 1 digit
J = Amount of payment – 10 digits
K = Check Digit for amount of payment – Modulus 10 check digit routine – 1 digit
L = Check Digit calculation for fields C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J and K. Modulus 10 check digit routine – 1 digit

Louisiana Estimated Tax Declaration Voucher For Individuals

Please DO NOT fold or staple.

LOUISIANA ESTIMATED TAX DECLARATION VOUCHER FOR Individuals – 2009
If year end differs from prior year, mark box.          For calendar year 2009 or fiscal year ending ___________________

	 year
Your Social Security Number Spouse’s Social Security Number Payment due date Individual

Voucher 1

Amount of payment.    DO NOT SEND CASH.

$ .00

IT-540ES (2009) SD

I
Name
Spouse’s Name
Address
City, State, ZIP

Mail this form with your payment to:
Louisiana Department of Revenue
PO BOX 91007
BATON ROUGE LA 70821-9007 

R-6231 (9/08)

1905

Mark box if address 
has changed.

Mail date

For office use only

Spec 
Code

19059 4358585653 665 12312009 00000000 4568565420 00002500007 5

848280787674727068666462605856545250484644424038363432302826242220181614121086
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Test Examples
Income Declaration Vouchers (2009)

Please prepare the necessary declaration vouchers using the various examples (or you may submit your own test data). 
Send all 4 vouchers for each test example and include the payment due date for each one (total of 16 vouchers). The in-
structions for the payment due date are attached.

	 Example 1	 Example 3
	 Primary Number – 444-34-5287	 Primary – 454-67-8905
	 Secondary Number – none	 Secondary – none
	 Taxable period – 12/31/2009	 Taxable period – 12/31/2009
	 Balance due - $550.00	 Balance due - $400.00

	 Jason Greenley	 Sharon Smith
	 822 Mark Drive	 3345 West Street
	 Baton Rouge, LA  70806-6360	 New Orleans, LA  70123-6660

	 Example 2 	 Example 4
	 Primary – 543-56-9876	 Primary – 258-96-3140
	 Secondary – 231-44-5556	 Secondary – 123-58-9420
	 Taxable period – 12/31/2009	 Taxable period – 12/31/2009
	 Balance due - $1,500.00	 Balance due - $75.00

	 Bryan and Marie Brown	 Sam and Martha Green
	 8768 Deepwoods Drive	 7634 Blue River Drive
	 Minden, LA  71055-4569	 Baton Rouge, LA  70812-2000



2009
The Louisiana Income Tax Law requires that the tax be paid currently 
with respect to anticipated income on which no tax is withheld at 
source. Rents, royalties, dividends, interest, business pro�ts, and 
professional fees are examples of income that must be included in 
computing your declaration of estimated individual income tax. Form 
IT-540ES is provided for making your declaration and computing the 
tax on such estimated individual income.

You should be able to make a proper determination of your liability for 
�ling a declaration, and acquaint yourself with related payment and  
�ling schedules, by the following digest of Louisiana income tax 
requirements for the declaration of estimated income:

Who must make a declaration – 1. Residents and Nonresidents 
must make a declaration of estimated income tax if the estimated 
Louisiana income tax after credits and taxes withheld can  
reasonably be expected to exceed $1,000.00 ($2,000.00 in the case of a 
joint declaration of husband and wife).

Nonresidents will enter on Line 1 of the worksheet the amount of 
their Louisiana adjusted gross income.

When and where to �le a declaration –2.  Your declaration must 
be �led on or before April 15, 2009, or on such later dates as  
speci�ed in instructions 5, 6, and 7 of this general information. The 
voucher should be mailed to the Department of Revenue, P. O. Box 
91007, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-9007, or to any regional office of 
the  Department.

Payment of estimated tax – 3. You may pay estimated individual income 
tax in full with the declaration, or in equal installments, on or before 
April 15, 2009, June 15, 2009, September 15, 2009, and January 15, 
2010. Payment of the amount entered on the declaration voucher 
must be made when the declaration is �led. A Form IT-540ES voucher 
for Louisiana estimated individual income taxes should not be �led if 
payment is made by EFT, credit card, or an electronic payment via the 
Department’s website. Make payments to: Department of Revenue. Do 
not send cash.

NOTE: Reminder notices for estimated individual income tax 
installments will not be sent to you. Please use the enclosed Form  
IT-540ES vouchers when paying estimated individual income taxes 
by check.

Joint declaration – 4. A husband and wife should �le a joint declaration 
with the following exceptions: No joint declaration may be made if 
the husband and wife are separated under a decree of divorce or 
of separate maintenance, or if they have different taxable years. 
If a joint declaration is made, a joint return should be �led for 
the taxable year. However, if returns are �led separately, the  
estimated tax for such year may be treated as the estimated tax of either 
the husband or the wife, or may be divided between them in such a 
manner as they may agree.

Farmers – 5. If at least two-thirds of your gross income is from  
farming, you may �le the declaration on or before January 15, 2010, 
instead of April 15, 2009. If you wait until January 15, 2010, you must 
pay the entire amount of the estimated tax. However, if you �le your tax 
return on or before March 1, 2010, and pay the total tax at that time, you 
need not �le a declaration for 2009.

Fiscal year – 6. If you �le your income tax return on a �scal year basis, the 
dates for �ling the declaration and paying estimated tax will be the 15th 
day of the fourth, sixth, and ninth months of your �scal year, and the 15th 
day of the �rst month following the close of your �scal year.

Changes in income or exemption – 7. Even though your situation on 
April 15 is such that you are not required to �le a declaration at that 
time, your expected income or exemptions may change so that you will 
become liable for �ling a declaration later. In such cases, the time for 
�ling is as follows: June 15, if the change occurs after April 1 and before 
June 2; September 15, if the change occurs after June 1 and before 
September 2; January 15, 2010, if the change occurs after September 
1. The estimated tax may be paid in equal installments on the remaining 
payment dates.

If you report income on a �scal year basis, there should be substituted 
for the months speci�ed, the fourth, sixth, or ninth month of the 
current year, or the �rst month of the succeeding taxable year.

If your 2009 individual income tax return is �led and paid by January 
31, 2010, (March 1, 2010 for farmers), you need not:

�le any required amended declaration, or original declaration that a. 
would be due for the �rst time on January 15, 2010, or

pay the last installment of estimated tax on or before January 15, 2010.b. 

NOTE: The January 15, 2010, �ling of a declaration, amended 
declaration, the payment of the last installment, or the �ling of an 
income tax return by January 31, 2010, will not relieve you of the 
additional penalty if you failed to pay the estimated income tax that 
was due earlier in your tax year.

Amended declaration – 8. If additional estimated income tax is due 
over the amount of prior payments and credits, subsequent payments 
are to be computed in the following manner: The total amount of prior  
payments and credits are subtracted from the new estimated tax and the 
balance is divided by the remaining quarters in the taxable year.

Penalty for failure to pay estimated income tax – 9. The following 
penalty is imposed by law for the underpayment of any installment of 
estimated income tax: 12 percent per year for the period of underpayment 
on the difference between the installment payment made and 90  
percent (66 2/3 percent in the case of farmers) of the installment due on 
the basis of the tax for the year. The penalty for any underpayment of 
any installment may be assessed unless the total amount of all payments 
of estimated tax made on or before the last dates prescribed for the 
payments of such installments equals or exceeds whichever of the 
following is lesser:

The amount that would have been required to be paid on or a. 
before such date if the estimated tax were whichever of the  
following is least –

 The tax shown on your return for the previous year (if your 1. 
return for such year indicated a tax liability and covered a tax 
year of 12 months), or

 A tax computed by using the previous year’s income with the 2. 
current year’s rates and exemptions, or

 Ninety percent (3. 66 2/3 percent in the case of farmers) of tax 
computed by projecting to the end of the year the income 
received from the beginning of the year up to the beginning of 
the month of the installment payment.

An amount equal to 90 percent of the tax computed at the rates b. 
applicable to the tax year, on the basis of the actual taxable 
income for the months in the tax year ending before the month in 
which the installments are required to be paid.

In the event that the date on which returns shall be �led falls on 
Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the return shall be made and �led 
on the next business day.

You can pay your Louisiana Estimated Tax for 
Individuals by Credit Card, over the Internet, or by 
phone. Visit www.revenue.louisiana.gov or call  
1-800-2PAY-TAX (1-800-272-9829)

IT-540ES(I) 2009

Declaration of Estimated Tax for
Individuals General Information



IT-540ESi 2009

Record of Estimated Tax Payments

Worksheet for Estimating Your 2009 Louisiana Individual Income Tax
Keep for your records. Do not mail.

Form IT-540 and instructions for 2008 should be used as a guide.

Amended estimated tax1.   .......................................................................................................................................1.

Less2. : A. Amount of last year’s overpayment carried forward to 2008 estimated tax and applied to date ...... 2A.

B. Payments made on 2009 declaration ................................................................................................. 2B.

C. Total of Lines 2A and 2B .................................................................................................................... 2C.

Unpaid Balance3.  (Line 1 less Line 2C)  .................................................................................................................3.

Amount to be paid4.  (Line 3 divided by number of remaining installments)  
 Enter here and in “Amount of Payment” block on declaration voucher, Form IT-540ES. .....................................4.

How to use the Declaration Voucher
Fill out the worksheet above to calculate your estimated tax for 2009. 1. 
Form IT-540 and instructions for 2008 should be used as a guide.

If you prepared a 2008 return on Form IT-540 or Form IT-540B and  
expect your income in 2009 to be the same as it was for 2008, you may 
compute your estimated tax using the information from your 2008 return, 
or Form R-6935 Tax Computation Worksheet, which is available on the 
Department’s web site at www.revenue.louisiana.gov. The �gures used 
should be adjusted for factors that apply to 2009, but did not apply to 
2008.

Check your Social Security Number(s), name(s), and address on the 2. 
voucher and correct any errors.

Enter the amount shown on Line 10 of the worksheet in the “Amount of 3. 
Payment” block on the voucher, Form IT-540ES.

Detach the voucher at the perforation and attach check or money order. 4. 
Fill in the Record of Estimated Tax Payments schedule at the bottom of 
this page.

Insert voucher and payment into the pre-addressed envelope and mail. 5. 
For each later installment, you need to complete only the “Amount of 
Payment” block on the voucher, attach payment, insert in the envelope, 
and mail. However, if you must amend your estimate:

Fill out the Amended Computation Schedule above.a. 

Complete the “Amount of Payment” block on the voucher.b. 

Detach at the perforation and mail with the required payment. For c. 
each later installment, complete the “Amount of Payment” block on 
the voucher, attach payment, insert in the envelope, and mail.

Additional IT-540ES forms are available on the Department’s web site.d. 
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If you �rst become liable to  
�le a declaration on or before:

Then enter on Line 10 and in “Amount of 
Payment” block on Form IT-540ES

April 15, 2009 ¼ of Line 9 (Make 4 installments.)

June 15, 2009 1/3 of Line 9 (Make 3 installments.)

September 15, 2009 ½ of Line 9 (Make 2 installments.)

January 15, 2010 Line 9 must be paid in full.

Voucher number Date Amount Total amount paid to date
1
2
3
4

Total

Estimated Adjusted Gross Income for 20091.   .....................................................................................................1.

Estimated federal income tax for 20092.   ..............................................................................................................2.

Your estimated Louisiana tax table income 3. (Subtract Line 2 from Line 1)  ......................................................3.

Estimated Louisiana income tax4.  .........................................................................................................................4.

Less estimated 2009 Total Nonrefundable Credits5.   ..........................................................................................5.

Less estimated 2009 Total Refundable Credits6.  .................................................................................................6.

Adjusted Louisiana income tax 7. (Subtract Lines 5 and 6 from Line 4) ...............................................................7.

Less Louisiana income tax to be withheld in 2009 including any  8. 
credit carried forward from 2008. (Round to the nearest dollar) ........................................................................8.

 Estimated income tax 9. (Subtract Line 8 from Line 7.) ...........................................................................................9.

10.

  ...........................10.

Note: If your estimated tax should change during the year, you may use the amended computation below to determine the amended amount to be 
entered on the declaration voucher.

Amended Computation
Use if estimated tax is substantially changed after the �rst declaration voucher is �led.



Electronic Filing and Declaration Voucher Specifications

The size of the detached voucher is 8 ½” x 3 5/8”.

A scan line is required on the following vouchers:
•	 Declaration Voucher for Individual, IT 540ES
•	 Declaration Voucher for Corporations, CIFT-620ES
•	 Individual Income Tax Electronic Filing Payment Voucher, R-540V-SD

Scan Line Print and Position:
Scan line characters must be printed in Courier 12 pt font (10cpi). The scan line must be printed on Line 63 of a 66-line 
page, positions 11 through 76.

Document Identification Numbers (see grid)
•	 Declaration Voucher for Individuals, IT 540ES – 1905 

The document identification number must be printed on Line 59, positions 74 through 77.
•	 Declaration Voucher for Corporations, CIFT-620ES – 1905 

The document identification number must be printed on Line 59, positions 74 through 77.
•	 Electronic Filing Payment Voucher, R-540V-SD – 1903 

The document identification number must be printed on Line 59, positions 74 through 77.

Reference Mark (see grid)

Declaration voucher for Individuals and Corporations:
•	 Print a 2 point one-half inch long vertical line on position 80, between Lines 57 through 60.
•	 Print a 2 point one-half inch long horizontal line on Line 57, between positions 76 through 80.
Electronic filing payment voucher:
•	 Print a 2 point one-half inch long vertical line on position 80, between Lines 57 through 60.
•	 Print a 2 point one-half inch long horizontal line on Line 57, between positions 76 and 80.

Bar Code (see grid)
•	 Print a “3/9” bar code on Line 61, starting in position 6.
•	 The height of the bar code should be 1/4”.
•	 The bar code is 1905.

Individual Voucher



Modulus 10 Self-check Digit Computation:

1.	 Multiply the unit’s position and every alternate position of the base number by 2 starting with right most position.
2.	 Add the digits in the products to the digits in the base number that were not multiplied
3.	 Subtract the sum from the next higher number ending in zero.

The difference is the self-check digit.

Example:
Base Number	 499865559 (right most position)

Multiply right	 95694
most position
and every other
position by 2.

Multiply by 2. 	 18, 10, 12, 18, 8

Add the digits	 (1+8), (1+0), (1+2), (1+8), 8
of the product.

Digits not	 5589
multiplied. 

Add	 (1+8) + 5 + (1+0) + 5 + (1+2) + 8 + (1+8) + 9 + 8

Sum	 57

Next Higher	 60
number ending in 0

Subtract	 60-57

Self-check digit	 3


