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Louisiana

The mission of the Louisiana Department of Revenue and Taxation is to serve the citizens of Louisiana by efficiently collecting
 the state’s tax revenue in a manner that will generate the highest degree of public confidence in our integrity and fairness.

The department has adopted LAC
61:I:4373 pertaining to the registration of
nonresident contractors. For each contract
performed on immovable property, non-
resident contractors are required to register,
pay a $10 fee, and provide a surety bond to
cover any state and local taxes due. To
ensure that taxes due by nonresident con-
tractors are paid to state and local govern-
ments, Act 1026 of the 1993 Regular Session
of the Legislature directed the Secretary of
the Department of Revenue and Taxation to
promulgate rules establishing standards for
the assessment and collection of local sales
taxes from nonresident contractors; to pro-
vide for the enforcement of the rules; and
authorize the withholding of state funds
from local government subdivisions within
parishes where the local government has
failed to comply with the rules.

§4373. Nonresident Contractors
A. General

This Section provides the procedures
that must be followed by nonresident
contractors who do business in this state
as required by R.S. 47:9 and R.S.
47:306(D). This Section also provides
the procedures that must be followed by
state and local agencies charged with the
responsibility for granting permits and/
or licenses for the lawful commence-
ment of construction contracts in this
state as required by R.S. 33:2847. This
Section also provides the necessary defi-
nitions.

B. Definitions

For the purposes of this Section, the
following terms are defined:

Contractor - any dealer, as defined in
this Chapter, who enters into contracts
for the construction, renovation, or re-
pair of immovable properties, such as
buildings, houses, roads, levees, pipe-
lines, and industrial facilities. It also in-
cludes subcontractors who enter into
similar agreements with a general or
prime contractor. The term contractor
shall not include businesses that fabri-
cate or construct property that is sold to
another person as tangible personal prop-
erty, even though the property may be
subsequently incorporated into the con-
struction of an immovable. The term
contractor shall include any project owner
who obtains any permit, license, or cer-

tificate necessary for the lawful com-
mencement of any construction contract.

Nonresident Contractor - any contractor
who does not meet any of the following
criteria for resident status.

a. For an individual proprietorship, resi-
dent status requires having maintained
permanent domicile in Louisiana for
at least one year prior to bidding on
work.

b. For a corporation, resident status re-
quires having operated a permanent
business facility in Louisiana for at
least one year prior to bidding on
work; or having at least 50 percent of
its outstanding and issued common
stock owned by individuals who have
maintained their domicile in Louisi-
ana for at least one year prior to bid-
ding on work.

must be clearly written across the face of the
return. Second, only report those items
within the return that have changed. Third,
the amended return must be signed.

An explanation of the change, a copy of
the federal amended return (Form 1120X),
if one was filed, and the revised calcula-
tion should accompany the return to assist
department personnel in processing the
return.  ■

Amending the corporate tax return
If it is determined that an error was made

on a corporate income and franchise tax
return, it is not necessary to complete the
entire tax return and all of the schedules that
accompany the original tax return.

There are three primary rules to remem-
ber when preparing an amended corporate
return. First, the face of the return must be
completed in its entirety in the same manner
as an original return and the word “amended”
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A taxpayer’s federal income tax deduc-
tion is the tax liability incurred for the same
taxable period as the state return on which it
is deducted, not the period in which it is
paid. Any reportable refunds of federal taxes
should be included on Schedule D (or Sched-
ule P for apportionment taxpayers) and not
taken as a “negative” federal tax deduction
on Line 1E.

The most common error in the franchise
tax area of the return is the omission of Line
7C (Franchise taxable base). A taxpayer’s
franchise taxable base must be shown on
Line 7C (as opposed to being reported only
on Line 7A).

Lastly, the taxpayer should make sure
that any franchise tax that was paid with an
extension request is claimed on Line 12
(previous payments), and not included with
the income tax payments on Line 5. How-
ever, overpayments credited to this year
from the previous year’s return should al-
ways be claimed as an income tax prepay-
ment on Line 5.

Taxpayer assistance in preparing returns
is available by calling the Income and Cor-
poration Franchise Taxes Division at (504)
925-4611, or by writing to P. O. Box 201,
Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0201.  ■

With a little care, common mistakes can
be avoided when preparing Corporation In-
come and Franchise Tax returns.

If taxpayers are not using the pre-printed
labels, they must indicate their correct
account number and the full name and
address of the corporation in the space
provided.

Every applicable line on page one should
be completed. Fiscal filers (filers for a tax-
able period ending other than December 31)
must indicate the date of the fiscal year end
in the space provided at the top of the return.

Beginning with the 1991-1992 return,
Line B was added to allow an exclusion to
Sub-Chapter S Corporations. Many taxpay-
ers have incorrectly used this line to show
their net operating loss deductions.

When taxpayers claim net operating loss
deductions on a current return, they must
claim those losses on Line 1C (Loss
carryforward); those being carried back to
the period being filed should be claimed on
Line 1D (Loss carryback). A schedule of
the losses incurred and utilized should
always be attached to the return.  Lines 1C
and 1D should not be used to show the
disposition of a current loss reported on
Line 1A.

Common CIFT return errors

surety bond requirements, the secre-
tary shall issue the contractor a cer-
tificate of compliance with which to
obtain any building permits neces-
sary for lawful commencement.

2. Following the satisfactory registra-
tion of contracts with the secretary,
the contractor shall submit copies of
all registration, tax, and surety bond
information to the appropriate parish
central sales and use tax collector, ex-
cept in Cameron Parish. In Cameron
Parish, the nonresident contractor is to
submit the necessary information to
the parish police jury. The collector or
police jury may require the contractor
to supply additional information nec-
essary to ensure that the contractor
and his subcontractors are registered
for and remit any applicable sales/use
and occupational license taxes. Upon
satisfactory completion of this require-
ment, the collector or police jury will
issue the contractor a certification of
compliance with which to obtain any
building permits necessary for lawful
commencement.

3. Nonresident subcontractors will be held
to the same requirements of registra-
tion, payment of a $10 fee, and furnish-
ing a surety bond, even though they
may not need to secure any permits.

D. Payments to be withheld from
subcontractors

R.S. 47:9(B)(3) makes each contractor
subject to this provision responsible for
all of its subcontractors’ compliance with
all state and local tax laws. A contractor
shall inform each of its subcontractors of
their tax registration, contract registra-
tion, and surety bond requirements, and
shall withhold a sufficient amount from
payments made under their contracts to
ensure compliance. Upon discovering
any unpaid tax liability by a subcontrac-
tor, the secretary will first attempt to
collect the unpaid taxes from the subcon-
tractor or his surety. However, if the
secretary’s efforts are unsuccessful, the
contractor and his surety have ultimate
responsibility for the payment of any
subcontractor’s unpaid tax liabilities.

c. For partnerships and other legal enti-
ties, resident status requires at least
50 percent ownership by individuals
or corporations who themselves
qualify as residents.

Resident Contractor - all contractors that
are not nonresident contractors.

C. Contracts to be Registered with Secre-
tary and Central Collector

1. Prior to obtaining a building permit
necessary for the lawful commence-
ment of any contract in Louisiana, a
nonresident contractor shall register
each contract that exceeds $3,000 in
total price or compensation with the
secretary of the Department of Rev-
enue and Taxation and with the cen-
tral sales and use tax collector for the

parish in which the project is located.
The secretary shall provide the neces-
sary forms for the contractors to reg-
ister each contract. The forms will
require the nonresident contractor to
give a complete description of each
project, pertinent tax registration data,
and a list of anticipated subcontrac-
tors. A fee of $10 per contract shall be
paid to the secretary at the time of
registration. As required by the secre-
tary, the contractor shall furnish a
surety bond for each contract or a
blanket surety bond for all contracts.
The bond shall be for an amount equal
to 5 percent of the total contract price,
or $1,000, whichever is greater, for
each contract. Upon satisfactory
completion of the registration and

Nonresident contractor program  (continued)
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The department’s automated phone sys-
tem can be used to check on the status of
individual income tax refunds. This service
is available 24 hours a day, including week-
ends. To check on a refund, dial (504) 922-
3270 and follow the procedures below:

☎ The caller will be asked to press 1 to
continue.  This is to make sure the call is
from a touch tone telephone.

☎ Callers can choose from 1, for individual
income tax refunds  or 2, for electronic
fund transfers.  Press 1 for individual

income tax and 1 again for automated
refund inquiries.

☎ Enter the primary social security number
as shown on the tax return.

☎ The computer will verify the numbers
entered and ask the caller to confirm the
accuracy by pressing 1.

☎ The caller will be asked to verify the
amount of the refund by entering the
amount shown on the tax return (without
cents) followed by the # (pound sign on
the telephone keypad).

If all the information keyed by the caller
is correct and matches the data keyed from
the original return, the caller will be fur-
nished with the actual amount of the refund
as verified by the department’s computer
and the date the check was or will be issued.

This service is free of charge, but if you are
calling long distance, it is not a toll free call.  ■

Taxpayers exceeding payments of
$50,000 required to pay electronically

Revised Statute 47:1519 authorizes the Department of Revenue and Taxation to require
electronic payments from taxpayers whose individual payments exceed $20,000. Under
rules promulgated by the department, payments over $50,000 are required to be paid
electronically at this time.

To phase in the electronic payment program, the department first required electronic
payments for average liabilities over $100,000 for certain taxes and gradually reduced the
threshold to $50,000. Effective February 1, 1995, all business taxpayers with average
liabilities over $50,000 are required to pay electronically.

The electronic payment program is a very effective tool for expediting deposits to the
state treasury. The table below shows the percentage of collections from electronic funds
transfers for the month of December. The percentage is expected to increase to well over
50% in 1995 as the $50,000 threshold is implemented for all taxes.

Ratio of Tax Collections
Electronic Fund Transfers vs. Total Collections

December December Ratio of
Tax Type EFT Total EFT Coll.

Collections Collections To Total

Gasoline $021,582,580.60 $034,164,309.04 63.17%

Corporation 29,336,935.07 95,115,647.83 30.84%

Withholding 14,511,269.28 65,077,808.52 22.30%

Auto Rental 152,546.00 279,855.22 54.51%

Sales 72,222,440.03 104,547,728.98 69.08%

Severance 25,689,822.22 34,149,701.06 75.23%

Hotel Motel 1,908,606.02 4,093,518.52 46.63%

N.O. Exhibition Hall 151,583.00 630,427.01 24.04%

Totals $165,555,782.22 $338,058,996.18 48.97%

Don’t forget!
The deadline for filing state individual

income tax is midnight, Monday, May 15.

Court Holds that
Suspension of
Sales and Use Tax
Exemptions Applies
Only to State Taxes

The Supreme Court of Louisiana reheard
the case of BP Oil Company v. Plaquemines
Parish Government [642 So.2d 1230 (La.
1994)] on January 20, 1995. The issues
before the Court on rehearing were the valu-
ation of coke-on-catalyst for use tax pur-
poses and the equalization of state and local
tax exemptions and exclusions, in particular
the suspensions of state sales tax exemp-
tions. The Court issued its ruling on the
rehearing on January 27, 1995.

The Court clarified its earlier ruling on
the valuation of coke-on-catalyst by ruling
that the valuation by Plaquemines Parish
was invalid and remanded the valuation of
the coke-on-catalyst to the district court.

On another issue in the case, the Court
originally held that the state and local sales
and use tax exemptions must apply equally
under the La. Const. Art. VI, §29(D). The
Court originally used this section of the
constitution to rule that the suspensions of
state exemptions also applied to local ex-
emptions. On rehearing, the Court concluded
that “...we need not decide in this case the
meaning or the scope of any uniformity

Continued on page 4
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E. Contract Completion

Cancellation of Surety Bond. Within 30
days after completion of each contract,
the contractor shall submit to the secre-
tary a completion report summarizing
the costs incurred; the taxes paid to other
states, to the state of Louisiana, and to
local taxing authorities; and other such
information that may be required by the
secretary. After reviewing the report and
verifying the tax payment amounts re-
ported, the secretary shall refer the sum-
mary to the central sales and use tax
collector for the parish in which the
project is located to determine whether
there are any unpaid local tax liabilities.
If no unpaid state or local tax liabilities
are discovered, the contractor’s surety
bond may be canceled for that contract.
The surety bond will be held by the Depart-
ment of Revenue and Taxation and used,
if necessary, in the future if sales taxes
are later found to be due on that contract.

F. Compliance by Permitting Agencies;
Withheld Funds Authorized

1. R.S. 47:9(B)(4) and R.S.
47:306(D)(2)(a) place specific respon-
sibilities with state or local agencies
that issue permits, licenses, or certifi-
cates necessary for the lawful com-
mencement of any construction
contract. State agencies, including but
not limited to the office of the state
fire marshal, and agencies of local
governing authorities, including but
not limited to parish and municipal
building inspectors, shall not issue
any building permit, license, or cer-
tificate until the applicant has submit-
ted documentation verifying that the
contract has been properly registered
and the required surety bond has been
posted. Proper documentation to be
obtained from the secretary of the
Department of Revenue and Taxation
is as follows:

a. Resident contractors must obtain a
certificate of resident status.

b. Nonresident contractors must obtain
a certificate of compliance.

c. Individuals seeking a permit for work
to be performed on their residence

must submit an affidavit as documen-
tation of residency.

2. The secretary is authorized by R.S.
33:2847(B) to evaluate and monitor
parish and municipal permitting agen-
cies to ensure compliance with these
provisions.

a. When the secretary discovers that a
parish or municipal permitting office
has issued a permit to a nonresident
contractor without verifying compli-
ance with the provisions of this regu-
lation, he shall notify that permitting
office, the parish collector, and the
governing authority of the parish of
the violation by registered mail.

b. The affected parties will be allowed
60 days to respond to the department’s
notification. If the affected parties
contact the department after receiv-
ing notification, the department will
work with them to reconcile the situ-
ation. If the situation is resolved, no
further action will be taken.

c. If an agreement can not be reached or
if the department does not receive a
response after 60 days, the secretary
will notify the state treasurer of the
violation by registered mail. A copy
of this notification will be sent to the
permitting office, the parish collec-
tor, and the governing authority of the
parish.

d. The state treasurer, within 90 days of
notification, shall request a hearing
on the suspected violation with the
House Committee on Ways and
Means. The date, time, and location
of this meeting will be furnished by
the state treasurer to the permitting
office, the parish collector, the gov-
erning authority of the parish, and the
secretary of the Department of Rev-
enue and Taxation by registered mail.
Following the hearing, the state trea-
surer shall take action as directed by
the committee, including the with-
holding of state funds as authorized
by R.S. 33:2847(C).

For additional information concerning this
rule, contact the Sales Tax Division at (504)
925-7356.  ■

Nonresident contractor program (continued)

Tax Topics is a monthly publication of the
Louisiana Department of Revenue and Taxa-
tion. Information contained herein is of a
general nature; taxpayers requiring infor-
mation concerning a specific tax matter
should contact the appropriate tax office.
Subscription information may be obtained
from the Research and Technical Services
Division at the address below, or by calling
504•925•6047.

This public document was published at a
total cost of $6,055.00. One hundred five
thousand copies of this public document
were published in this first printing at a cost
of $6,055.00. The total cost of all printings
of this document, including reprints, is
$6,055.00. This document was published
for the Department of Revenue and Taxa-
tion, Post Office Box 201, Baton Rouge, LA
70821-0201, by the Division of Administra-
tion, State Printing Office, to disperse infor-
mation concerning Louisiana tax matters
deemed to be of public interest under au-
thority of R.S. 47:1509. This material was
printed in accordance with the standards for
printing by state agencies established pursu-
ant to R.S. 43:31.

Edwin W. Edwards
Governor

Ralph Slaughter, CPA
Secretary

Suspension (continued)
requirement for exemptions or exclusions
in Section 29(D), because the present case
involves only the suspension of a law en-
acted by the Legislature.” The Court thus
limited its decision in the rehearing to the
suspension of exemptions as it applies to the
rights of the legislature under La. Const.
Art. III, §20. The Court concluded that the
legislature clearly intended the suspension
of exemptions to apply only to state exemp-
tions and Article III, §20 does not have a
requirement of uniformity between state
and local exemptions. The Court reversed
itself and decreed that the legislative sus-
pension of exemptions applied only to state
sales and use tax exemptions.


