R-1029 H/M (3/03)

1. All persons and dealers who are subject
to the tax levied under Chapter 2 of Title 47
of 1950, as amended, are required to file a
tax return monthly, unless otherwise pro-
vided. Returns are due on or before the 20th
day of the month following the close of the
period in which the tax becomes due. If the
due date falls on a weekend or holiday, the

GENERAL INFORMATION

return is due on the first business day after
the due date and becomes delinquent on the
first day thereafter.

2. All amounts on the return should be
rounded to the nearest dollar.

3. Care should be exercised to ensure that:
the correct period is entered in the space

provided at the top of the return; the return
is signed and dated by the appropriate com-
pany official; a payment for the exactamount
of tax, penalty, and interest accompanies
the return; and, the return and payment are
placed in the attached pre-addressed enve-
lope, stamped, and mailed.

DO NOT CLAIM CREDIT FOR ANY PREVIOUS OVERPAYMENT.

A REFUND WILL BE ISSUED.

Line 1 - Enter the total gross receipts from
the rental of hotel/motel rooms to transient
guests, as defined by Louisiana Revised
Statute 47:301(6).

Line 2 - Enter the total of room rental re-
ceipts billed to, and paid directly by, a fed-
eral, state, orlocal governmental agency. Do
notinclude room rentals paid by governmen-
tal employees.

Line 3 - Self-explanatory.

Line 4 - “Gross sales” as used here means
the total sale price for each individual item or
article of tangible personal property with no
reduction for any purpose.

Line 5- Ausetaxisdue onthe purchaser’s
acquisition price of the tangible personal
property used, consumed, distributed, stored
for use or consumption in Louisiana, or pur-
chased orimported into the state forresale in
the coin-operated vending machines. The
total cost or value of such property on which
the tax has not been paid to vendors must be
entered on this line.

Line 6 - The gross receipts billed for the
lease or rental of tangible personal property,
as well as the gross receipts from taxable
services defined in the statutes, should be
included. Refer to the Sales Tax Law and
Regulations for details showing services that
are taxable and leases or rentals that are
taxable.

Line 7 - Self-explanatory.

Line 8 - Enter the total gross receipts for
tax-exempt sales, leases, rentals (other than
room rentals), and services of tangible per-
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sonal property billed to, and paid directly by
afederal, state, or local government agency.
(Do not include such transactions paid by
governmental employees.) This deduction
can be claimed only if the items have been
included on either Line 4 or Line 6.

Line 9 - Self-explanatory.

Line 10 - Self-explanatory.

Line 11 - In cases where the total amount of
Louisiana sales or use taxes collected by use
of tax-bracket tables exceeds the amount
shown on Line 10, any such excess must be
remitted to the Secretary of Revenue.

Line 12 - Self-explanatory.

Line 13 - To receive dealer’s 1.1 percent
compensation for the remittance of the tax
levied, deduct the 1.1 percent from the total
tax accounted for and payable to the Secre-
tary of Revenue before taking credit for taxes
already paid to a wholesaler. Such compen-
sation is allowable only when the payment is
timely, and in noinstance canthe compensa-
tion be allowed ifthe tax is not paid when due.
Line 14 - Self-explanatory.

Line 15 - Alldealers who have paid advance
sales tax to a manufacturer, wholesaler, job-
ber, or supplier shall deduct from the total tax
collected by them upon retail sale of the
commodity the amount of advance sales tax
paid, provided tax-paid invoices evidencing
the payments are retained by the dealer
claiming the refund or credit. Purchases
should be shownintheir entirety eventhough
some portion of the purchases did not bear
the advance sales tax. Credit cannot be

claimed for taxes paid on the property
purchased forresale in coin-operated vend-
ing machines.

Line 16 - Self-explanatory.

Line 17 - A delinquent penalty of 5 percent
for each 30 days or fraction thereof of delin-
quency, not to exceed 25 percent of the net
tax due on Line 16, must be entered on Line
17. A monthly return becomes delinquent on
the 21stday of the month following the month
in which tax becomes due, and a quarterly
return becomes delinquentonthe 21stday of
the month following the calendar quarter in
which tax becomes due.

NOTE - In addition to the delinquent pen-
alty reported above, a taxpayer may also
incur a negligence penalty if circumstances
indicate willful negligence or intentional dis-
regard of rules and regulations.

Line 18 - Interest of 1.25 percent per month
of the net tax due on Line 16 must be shown
for the delinquent period, beginning with the
dates explained on Line 17, until the tax is
remitted to the Secretary of Revenue.

Line 19 - Self-explanatory.

Line 20 - If the credit shown on Line 15 is
greater than the amount of tax due shown on
Line 14, creating a credit balance on Line 16,
enter the total overpayment in the space
provided.





