
SPEC
CODE

This space on the first page of the tax return is to be used only 
when specifically instructed by the Department of Revenue. 
Otherwise, leave blank.

WHO MUST FILE A RETURN? (FORM IT-540B-NRA)
1. 	 A nonresident individual must file Form IT-540B-NRA if he or 

she is a professional athlete who earned income as a result 
of services rendered within Louisiana and is required to file a 
federal individual income tax return.

2. 	 Any taxpayer who has overpaid their tax through withholding 
or declaration of estimated tax must file a return to obtain a 
refund or credit.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Under the provisions of R.S. 47:1602.1, 
penalties will be imposed for failure to use Form IT-540B-NRA 
when filing and reporting Louisiana income. A $500 penalty will 
be imposed for the first failure to file the correct form, a $1,000 
penalty for the second failure to file the correct form, and $2,500 
each additional failure to file the correct form within a three year 
period.

INCOME TO BE REPORTED ON THIS FORM
1. 	 The Louisiana income of a nonresident individual who is a 

member of a professional athletic team should be reported 
to Louisiana. Louisiana income is the portion of the total 
compensation for services rendered as a member of a 
professional athletic team during the taxable year earned 
while in Louisiana. The reported income is proportional to the 
number of duty days spent within the state rendering services 
for the team in any manner, compared to the total number 
of duty days spent both within and without the state during 
the taxable year. This reporting requirement shall include all 
employees who are active players, players on the disabled 
list, and any other persons required to travel and perform 
services on behalf of a professional athletic team on a regular 
basis. This includes, but is not limited to, coaches, managers, 
and trainers.

2. 	 The Louisiana income of a nonresident athlete who is NOT 
a member of a professional athletic team (e.g. PGA golfer) 
should be reported to Louisiana. The amount to be reported 
is the gross amount earned in the state less: a) ordinary 
and necessary business expenses directly attributable to the 
state, and b) a pro rata share of indirect business expenses 
not directly attributable to income from any particular source.

3. 	 All other Louisiana-sourced income should be reported. 
Examples of such income items are amounts paid to the 
athlete for endorsements, royalties, promotional advertising, 
etc. The amount earned is calculated on a pro-rata basis for 
Louisiana.

FORMS
Forms and instructions may be obtained from the Department’s 
website at www.revenue.louisiana.gov.

AMENDED RETURNS
If you file your Louisiana income tax return and later become 
aware of any changes you must make to income, deductions, or 
credits, you must file an amended Louisiana return. A corrected 
return, Form IT-540B-NRA should be submitted along with an 
explanation of the change(s) and a copy of the federal amended 
return if one was filed. The form should be clearly marked with an 
“X” in the “Amended Return” box. Do not make any adjustments 
for the refunds received or for payments made with the original 
return. This information is already on file.

FEDERAL TAX ADJUSTMENTS
Louisiana Revised Statute 47:103(C) requires taxpayers whose 
federal returns are adjusted to furnish a statement disclosing the 
nature and amounts of such adjustments within 60 days after the 
adjustments have been made and accepted.

WHEN TO FILE AND PAY TAX
1. 	 A calendar year return is due on or before May 15, 2008.

2. 	 Returns for fiscal years are due on or before the 15th day of 
the fifth month after the close of the taxable year.

EXTENSION OF TIME FOR FILING A RETURN
The Secretary of the Louisiana Department of Revenue may grant 
an extension of time for filing returns not to exceed six months 
from the date the Louisiana income tax return is due. Extensions 
must be filed before the tax return’s due date, May 15, 2009, for 
the 2008 return, and may be submitted either electronically via 
the Department of Revenue’s website, www.revenue.louisiana.
gov, or by submitting Form R-2868 an Application for Extension 
of Time to File Louisiana Individual Income Tax. 

By requesting an extension, you are only requesting additional 
time to file your tax return. An extension does not extend the 
time to pay any tax that may be due. Payments received after 
the return due date will be charged interest and penalties. 
Please place the extension as the first page of your return.

Interest and Penalties - See Interest and Penalty Calculation 
worksheets, page 17.

KEEP YOUR RECORDS
Taxpayers should keep copies of federal and state returns and W-2 
statements for four years. Do not submit a copy of your federal 
return, unless requested by the Department.

General Information for Filing  
2008 Louisiana Nonresident Professional Athlete Individual Income Tax Return
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ABOUT THIS FORM
If you are a nonresident person who is a professional athlete and
earned income as a result of services rendered within Louisiana, 
you should complete Form IT-540B-NRA.

1. 	 Write amounts only on those lines that are applicable.

2. 	 Please use black ink to complete the form.

3. 	 All numbers should be rounded to the nearest dollar and 
numbers should not be printed over the zeros that designate 
cents.

4. 	 To avoid any delay, use this form for 2008 only.

5. 	 If you are filing an amended return, mark an “X” in the 
“Amended Return” box.

Name, Address, and Social Security Number(s) – Print your 
Social Security Number(s) in the space provided. If married, 
please give Social Security Numbers for both you and your 
spouse. List in the same order as they were listed on your federal 
return.

Lines 1-5: Filing Status – You must use the same filing status 
on your Louisiana return as you did on your federal return. In 
the box on the left, print the number corresponding to your filing 
status: “1” for single, “2” for married filing jointly, “3” for married 
filing separately, “4” for head of household, and “5” for qualifying 
widow(er). If your filing status is head of household, you must 
list the name of the qualifying person in the space provided if 
that person is not a dependent. Head of household status is for 
unmarried people who paid over half the cost of keeping up a 
home for a qualifying person.

Lines 6A and 6B – Exemptions – Mark an “X” in the appropriate 
box(es). You must use the same number of exemptions on your 
Louisiana return as you did on your federal return, unless: (A) you 
are listed as a dependent on someone else’s return, (B) you are 
age 65 or over, or (C) you are blind. You must claim an exemption 
for yourself on Line 6A, even if someone else claimed you on his 
or her federal tax return. This box has already been marked with 
an “X” for you.

Line 6C – Print the name(s) of the dependents listed on your 
federal return. Complete the required information. If you have 
more than 6 dependents, attach a statement to your return with 
the required information. In the box on Line 6C, print the total 
number of dependents claimed.

Line 6D – Add Lines 6A, 6B, and 6C and print the result. 

Line 7 – Print the amount of your federal adjusted gross income. 
This amount is taken from federal Form 1040, Line 37, or federal 
Form 1040A, Line 21, or federal Form 1040EZ, Line 4. If your 
federal adjusted gross income is less than zero, print “0.”

Line 8A – Print the amount from Schedule NRA-1, page 16, Line 5.

Line 8B – All other Louisiana-sourced income should be reported. 
Examples of such income items are amounts paid to the athlete 
for endorsements, royalties, promotional advertising, etc. The 
amount earned is calculated on a pro-rata basis for Louisiana.

Line 9 – Divide Line 8C by Line 7. Carry out to two decimal places 
in the percentage; for example, 48.32 percent. DO NOT ROUND 
UP. The percentage can not exceed 100 percent.

Line 10A – If you did not itemize your deductions on your federal 
return, leave Lines 10A, 10B, 10C, and 10D blank. If you did 
itemize your deductions, enter on Line 10A the amount of your 
federal itemized deductions, shown on Form 1040, Schedule A, 
Line 29.

Line 10B – If you did not itemize your deductions on your federal
return, leave this line blank. If you did itemize your deductions and 
your filing status is: 1 or 3, print $5,450; 2 or 5, print $10,900; 4,
print $8,000.

Line 10C – Subtract Line 10B from Line 10A. If less than zero, 
print zero “0.”

Line 10D – Multiply Line 10C by 65% (.65). Print the result on Line 
10D. If you did not itemize your deductions on your federal return, 
leave this line blank.

Line 10E – If you HAVE claimed a federal disaster relief credit on
your federal return as a result of Hurricane Katrina or Hurricane 
Rita, you must complete Schedule H–NRA in order to determine 
your modified federal income tax deduction for Louisiana. The 
federal disaster relief credits utilized for this year and allowed 
by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) could be credits that are 
carried forward from 2005 or 2006. However, the credits must 
appear on your federal return. Attach a copy of your federal return 
which indicates the amount of the credit, a copy of Form 3800, 
and a copy of the appropriate IRS form in order to substantiate 
the amount of the credit. 

If you HAVE NOT claimed federal disaster relief credits, print your 
federal income tax liability on Line 10E. This amount is taken from 
your federal return. Below are the federal returns and line numbers 
that indicate your federal income tax liability

• Federal Form 1040EZ filers: This amount is on Line 11.

• Federal Form 1040A filers: This amount is on Line 35.

• Federal Form 1040 filers: This amount is on Line 56, less 		
	 the amount from Form 4972 included on Line 44.

Optional deduction – The federal tax deduction above may be 
increased by the amount of foreign tax credit (associated with 
Louisiana income) that was claimed on Federal Form 1040, Line 
47. If this additional deduction is claimed, no special allowable 
credit may be claimed on Nonrefundable Tax Credits, Schedule 
G-NRA, Line 3.

Line 10F – Add Lines 10D and 10E and print the result.

Line 10G – Multiply Line 10F by the percentage on Line 9 and 
print the result. This amount of deduction is the portion applicable 
to your Louisiana income.

Line 11 – Subtract Line 10G from Line 8C. If less than zero, print “0.”

Instructions for Preparing Your
2008 Nonresident Athlete Individual Income Tax Return, Form IT-540b-NRA



Tax Computation Worksheet (Keep this worksheet for your records.)
A Taxable Income: Print the amount from Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 11. A .00

B
First Bracket: If Line A is greater than $12,500 ($25,000 if filing status is 2 or 
5), print $12,500 ($25,000 if filing status is 2 or 5). If Line A is less than $12,500 
($25,000 if filing status is 2 or 5), print amount from Line A.

B .00

C1
Combined Personal Exemption – Standard 
Deduction: If your filing status is 2, 4, or 5, print 
$9,000; if 1 or 3, print $4,500.

C1 .00

C2

Credit for Dependents: Print $1,000 for 
taxpayers and/or spouses who are 65 or 
over, or blind, and for each dependent 
claimed on Line 6C of Form IT-540B-NRA.

C2 .00

C3 Total: Add Lines C1 and C2. C3 .00

D Ratio: Enter the ratio from Form IT 540B-
NRA, Line 9. D %

E Allowable Deduction: Multiply Line C3 by the ratio on Line D and print the result. E .00 TAX

F
Taxable First Bracket: Subtract Line E from Line B. If the result is zero 
or less than zero, print “0”. Multiply balance by 2% (.02) and print the 
result in the TAX column.

F .00 2%
Rate .00

G

Second Bracket: Subtract Line B from Line A; and, if the balance is 
greater than zero, print the balance	 or $12,500 ($25,000 if filing status 
is 2 or 5) whichever is less. Note: Reduce this amount by the amount that 
Line E exceeds Line B. Multiply balance by 4% (.04) and print the result 
in the TAX column.

G .00 4%
Rate .00

H
Third Bracket: Subtract $25,000 ($50,000 if filing status is 2 or 5) from 
Line A and print balance. If less than zero, print “0.” Multiply the balance 
by 6% (.06) and print the result in the TAX column.

H .00 6%
Rate .00

I Total Tax: Add the tax on Lines F, G, and H. Print here and on of Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 12. I .00

Calculate your Louisiana tax by using the Tax Computation Worksheet. 
(DO NOT USE RESIDENT TAX TABLES—USE WORKSHEET BELOW.)
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Line 12: Print the amount from Line I of the tax computation worksheet shown below.

Line 13A: A credit of $25 is allowed for each dependent child 
claimed on Line 6C who attended school from kindergarten 
through 12th grade for at least part of this year. Multiply the 
number of qualified dependents by $25 and print the result.

Line 13B: Print the amount From Line 10 Schedule G-NRA. 

Line 14: Subtract Line 13 from Line 12 and print the balance. If 
less than zero, print “0.”

Line 15A: Print the amount of your Louisiana Citizens Property 
Insurance assessment that was included in your homeowner’s 
insurance premium. You must attach a copy of the declaration 
page of your insurance policy in order to claim the credit. 
For additional information regarding this credit, see Revenue 
Information Bulletin 07-015 on the Department’s website at www.
revenue.louisiana.gov. 

Line 15B: Print the amount of the total other Refundable Tax 
Credits. This amount is taken from Louisiana Form IT-540B-NRA, 
Schedule F-NRA, Line 7.

Line 15C: Print the amount of Louisiana income tax withheld in 2008. 
In order for the credit to be allowed, you must attach copies of all 
W-2 forms that indicate tax was withheld. If the withholding amount 
exceeds 10 percent (.10) of the income shown on Form IT-540B-
NRA, Line 7, you must attach a copy of your federal return.

Line 15D: Print the total payments made on your estimated taxes 
including credit carried forward to this year, payments remitted 
with extension, and any composite team payments made on your 
behalf.

Line 15E: Add Lines 15A, 15B, 15C, and 15D and print the result.

Line 16:Overpayment - If Line 15E is equal to Line 14, print zero 
“0” and sign and date the return. If Line 15E is greater than Line 
14, subtract Line 14 from Line 15E and print the result. Your 
overpayment may be reduced by Underpayment of Estimated 
Tax Penalty. If Line 15E is less than Line 14, print zero “0” on 
Lines 16 through 20 and go to Line 21. 

Line 17: Although you may have an overpayment, if you failed 
to sufficiently pay income tax throughout the year, in accordance 
with R.S. 47:117.1, you may be subject to the underpayment 
penalty. Complete the 2008 Form R-210NRA and print the 
amount from Line 19 of the form on this line. Attach the completed 
R-210NRA to your return.

Line 18: If Line 16 is greater than Line 17, subtract Line 17 from 
Line 16 and print the result. If Line 17 is greater than Line 16, print 
zero “0”, subtract Line 16 from Line 17, and print the balance on 
Line 21.

Line 19: Print the amount of Line 18 that you wish to credit to 2009.

Line 20: Subtract Line 19 from Line 18 and print the result. This 
amount is to be refunded.

Line 21: If Line 14 is greater than Line 15E, subtract Line 15E 
from Line 14 and print the result. If this amount is the result of 
underpayment penalty exceeding an overpayment, go to Line 26 
and print zero on Lines 22 through 25. 

Line 22: Interest is charged on all tax amounts that are not 
paid on time. Print the amount from the Interest Calculation 
Worksheet, page 17, Line 5.



line 1 – A refundable credit (R.S. 47:297.9) is allowed against 
individual income tax for 100 percent of the amount paid by an 
active or reserve military servicemember, or the spouse of an 
active or reserve military servicemember, or the dependent of such 
servicemember for obtaining a Louisiana noncommercial hunting or 
fishing license. A copy of the noncommercial hunting and/or fishing 
license must be submitted to the Department in order to claim the 
credit. Complete all information requested in Lines 1A through 1D. 
The credit for the license purchased is valid only during the time 
the servicemember is on active duty. The credit does not apply to 
purchases of lifetime licenses. Please contact the Department of 
Revenue for information regarding this credit.

Additional Refundable Tax Credits Lines 2 through 6

Below is a list of additional refundable tax credits available for 
the tax year ending December 31, 2008. Please print the credit 
description, identifying code, and the dollar amount claimed in the 
appropriate spaces on Line 2 through 6.

NOTE: Use only the codes referenced in the table on Schedule 
F-NR. The codes listed here are not interchangeable with 
other codes listed in this booklet.

Example:

Credit Description	  Code 	 Amount of Credit Claimed

Historic Residential

Line 7 – Total Refundable Tax Credits - Add Lines 1D, 2 through 
6 and print the result on Schedule F-NRA, Line 7 and on Form 
IT-540B-NRA, Line 15D.

Code	credit  description

50F –	 Inventory Tax — A refundable credit (R.S. 47:6006) is 
allowed for 100 percent of the ad valorem taxes paid to 
political subdivisions in Louisiana on inventory held by 
manufacturers, distributors, or retailers. Please refer to 
Revenue Information Bulletin 06-036 on the Department’s 
website.

51F –	 Ad Valorem Natural Gas — A refundable credit (R.S. 
47:6006) is allowed for 100 percent of the ad valorem 
taxes paid to political subdivisions in Louisiana on natural 
gas held, used, or consumed in providing natural gas 
storage services or operating natural gas storage facili-
ties. Both a copy of the tax assessment and a copy of the 
cancelled check in payment of the tax must be attached 
to the return.

52F –	 Ad Valorem Offshore Vessels — A refundable credit 
(R.S. 47:6006.1) is allowed for 100 percent of the ad 
valorem taxes paid on vessels in Outer Continental Shelf 
Lands Act Waters. The following must be attached to the 
return: (A) a copy of the inventory tax assessment, (B) a 
copy of the cancelled check in payment of the tax, and (C) 
a copy of a completed Form LAT 11A from the Louisiana 
Tax Commission.

53F –	 Sound Recording — A refundable credit (R.S. 47:6023) 
is allowed for investing in certain state-certified musical 
recording productions and infrastructure. The Louisiana 
Department of Economic Development certifies the credit 
and a copy of the certification must be attached to the 
return.
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If a schedule is required in the instructions below, you must attach a separate schedule for each credit claimed.The schedule should 
clearly identify the credit, your name(s), and Social Security Number(s). For complete information regarding the credits, refer to the 
publication, “Credits, Exemptions, Exclusions, and Deductions for Individual and Corporation Income Tax, Corporation Franchise Tax, 
and Inheritance and Gift Tax.” This publication may be obtained on the Department’s website at www.revenue.louisiana.gov.

Instructions for Refundable Tax Credits, Schedule F-NRA

6 0 F 4 0 0 00.

General Information

Line 23: If you fail to pay any tax owed by the due date – on or 
before May 15, 2009 for calendar year filers, or on or before 
your fiscal year due date, or on or before your approved extension 
date, you may be charged a Delinquent Filing Penalty. Print the 
amount from the Delinquent Filing Penalty Calculation Worksheet, 
page 17, Line 7.

Line 24: If you fail to pay any tax owed by the due date – on 
or before May 15, 2008 for calendar year filers, you may 
be charged a Delinquent Payment Penalty. Please refer to the 
Delinquent Payment Penalty Calculation Worksheet on page 17.

Line 25: If you have a tax deficiency that is greater than 
$1,000 ($2,000 if married filing jointly), you may be charged an 
underpayment penalty. Print the amount from Line 19 of the 2006 
Form R-210NRA, Nonresident Underpayment Penalty Return and 
attach this form to your return.

Line 26: Balance Due Louisiana - Add Lines 21 through 25 
and print the result. You may make a payment by credit card 
or electronic debit through the Department’s website at www.
revenue.louisiana.gov. You may also make payment by check or 

money order. PLEASE DO NOT SEND CASH. Make your check 
or money order payable to the Louisiana Department of Revenue. 
Write your Social Security Number(s) on your check or money 
order and attach it to your return.

FILING: You must sign and date your return. On a joint return, 
your spouse must also sign in the space provided. If you paid 
someone to prepare your return, they must also sign in the 
appropriate space and print their identification number. 

Social Security Number - Please print your Social Security 
number in boxes provided on each page of the return.

Name Boxes - Please print the first 4 characters of the primary 
taxpayer’s last name in the boxes on the second page of this 
return.

PRINT A DAYTIME PHONE NUMBER IN THE SPACE 
PROVIDED. We may need to contact you during normal business 
hours.



9

Code	credit  description

54F –	 Telephone Company Property — A refundable credit 
(R.S. 47:6014) is allowed for up to 40 percent (.40) of the 
ad valorem taxes paid to Louisiana political subdivisions 
by a telephone company, with respect to that company’s 
public service properties located in Louisiana. The credit 
may be passed through to individuals who are sharehold-
ers or members of certain legal entities. See Revenue 
Information Bulletin 01-004, on the Department’s website. 
A schedule must be attached stating which entity paid the 
tax and obtained the credit on the individual’s behalf.

55F –	 Prison Industry Enhancement — A refundable credit 
(R.S. 47:6018) is allowed for purchases by a taxpayer 
of specialty apparel items from a private sector Prison 
Industry Enhancement (PIE) contractor. Please contact 
the Department of Revenue for information regarding this 
credit.

56F –	 Urban Revitalization — A refundable credit (R.S. 
51:1801) is allowed for investing in certain economically 
depressed areas of the state. The Louisiana Department 
of Economic Development certifies the credit and a copy 
of the certification must be attached to the return.

57F –	 Mentor - Protégé — A refundable credit (R.S. 47:6027) 
is allowed for a mentor business that commits and pro-
vides professional guidance and support to its protégés to 
facilitate their development and growth as a competitive 
contractor, subcontractor, joint venture partner, or sup-
plier of local, state, federal, and private markets. The 
Louisiana Department of Economic Development certifies 
this credit and a copy of the certification must be attached 
to the return.

58F –	 Milk Producers — A refundable credit (R.S. 47:6032) is 
allowed for a resident taxpayer engaged in the business 
of producing milk for sale. Those milk producers that 
have obtained permits under the Louisiana Administrative 
Code, Title 51, and have met the requirements of the 
Food and Drug Administration, shall be certified by the 
Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals to receive 
the credit.

59F –	 Technology Commercialization — A refundable credit 
(R.S. 51:2351 et seq.) is allowed for a qualifying indi-
vidual or business that invests in the commercialization 
of Louisiana technology. The Louisiana Department of 
Economic Development certifies this credit and documen-
tation from that agency must be attached to the return.

60F – 	Historic Residential — A refundable credit (R.S. 
47:297.6) is allowed for the amount of eligible costs 
and expenses incurred during the rehabilitation of an 
owner-occupied residential or owner-occupied mixed use 
structure located in a National Register Historic District, 
a cultural products district, a local historic district, a Main 
Street District, or a downtown development district. The 
structure must have been listed or is eligible for listing 
on the National Register or has been certified by the 
State Historic Preservation Office. The tax credit shall 
be limited to one credit per rehabilitated structure and 
shall not exceed $25,000 per structure. Please contact 
the Department of Revenue for information regarding this 
credit.

Code	credit  description

61F – 	Angel Investor — A refundable credit (R.S. 47:6020 et 
seq.) is allowed to encourage third party investment of 
taxpayers who make qualified investments to certified 
Louisiana entrepreneurial businesses between January 1, 
2005 and December 31, 2009. To earn the Angel Investor 
Tax Credit, taxpayers must file an application with the 
Louisiana Department of Economic Development, which 
has the exclusive authority to implement and administer 
the credit program and approve the credit applications. 
Please refer to Revenue Information Bulletin 06-020 on 
the Department’s website.

62F – 	Musical and Theatrical Productions — A refund-
able credit (R.S. 47:6034) is allowed for the production 
expenses, transportation costs, employment of college 
and vocational-technical students, employment of resi-
dents, and for the construction, repair, or renovation of 
facilities related to productions and performances. No 
credit shall be allowed under this provision if credit has 
been granted for the Motion Picture Investment credit 
(R.S. 47:6007) or the Sound Recording Investment credit 
(R.S. 47:6023). The Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development, the Commissioner of Administration, and 
the Office of the Governor shall certify the production or 
project.

64F – 	Wind and Solar Energy Systems — A refundable credit 
(R.S. 47:6030) is allowed for taxpayers who purchase 
and install a wind energy system, a solar energy system, 
or both in an existing residence located in this state, or 
for owners who purchase and install such energy sys-
tems in an existing residential rental apartment project. 
Taxpayers are also eligible for the credit when a resident 
purchases a newly constructed home with such systems 
already installed, or when such systems are installed in 
new apartment projects. The credit is equal to fifty per-
cent (.50) of the first $25,000 of the cost of each wind 
energy system or solar energy system, including installa-
tion costs, purchased on or after January 1, 2008.

	 When taking this credit, the taxpayer will not be eligible for 
any other state tax credit, exemption, exclusion, deduc-
tion, or any other tax benefit for the property. Please refer 
to Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC) 61:I.1907 on the 
Department’s website.

65F – 	School Readiness Child Care Provider — A refundable 
credit (R.S. 47:6105) is allowed for a child care provider 
who operates a facility or facilities where care is given to 
foster children who are in the custody of the Louisiana 
Department of Social Services or to children who partici-
pate in the Child Care Assistance Program administered 
by the Office of Family Support in the Department of 
Social Services. The credit is based upon the average 
monthly number of children who attended the facility mul-
tiplied by an amount based upon the quality star rating of 
the child care facility. For more information regarding this 
credit, please contact the Louisiana Department of Social 
Services.

66F – 	School Readiness Child Care Directors and Staff – A 
refundable credit (R.S. 47:6106) is allowed for eligible 
child care directors and eligible child care staff. The tax 
credit shall be based upon certain attained qualifications 
for directors and staff members. For more informa-
tion regarding this credit, please contact the Louisiana 
Department of Social Services.
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Code	credit  description

67F – 	School Readiness Business-Supported Child Care 
– A refundable credit (R.S. 47:6107) is allowed for a 
taxpayer who incurs eligible business-supported child 
care expenses. The credit of such eligible business child 
care expenses depends upon the quality rating of the 
child care facility to which the expenses are related or 
the quality rating of the child care facility that the child 
attends. Copies of cancelled checks and other documen-
tation to support the amount of eligible business child care 
facility expenses should be maintained and provided upon 
request by a taxpayer claiming this credit. For more infor-
mation regarding this credit, please contact the Louisiana 
Department of Social Services.

Code	credit  description

68F – 	School Readiness Fees and Grants to Resource and 
Referral Agencies – A refundable credit (R.S. 47:6107) 
is allowed for a taxpayer whose business pays fees and 
grants to child care resource and referral agencies. The 
credit shall not exceed $5,000 per tax year. For more 
information regarding this credit, please contact the 
Louisiana Department of Social Services.

80F – Other Refundable Credit — Reserved for future credits.

Line 1 – Credit for certain disabilities – (R.S. 47:297(A)) If you 
are a taxpayer, spouse, or dependent of a person who is deaf, 
has lost the use of a limb, is mentally incapacitated, or is blind, 
you can earn a credit of $100 against the tax. Only one credit is 
allowed per person. The disability must exist at the end of the 
taxable year, or if death occurred during the taxable year, at the 
date of death. If you are claiming this credit for the first time, a 
physician’s statement is required certifying the disability. If 
this statement is not submitted with the return, it will be requested 
later. For purposes of this credit, refer to the definitions below:

•	 DEAF is defined as one who cannot understand speech 
through auditory means alone (even with the use of amplified 
sound) and must either use visual means or rely on other 
means of communication. 

•	 LOSS OF LIMB is defined as one who has lost one or both 
hands at or above the wrist or one or both feet at or above 
the ankle. This credit also applies if use of the limb or limbs 
has been permanently lost. 

•	 MENTALLY INCAPACITATED is defined as one who is 
incapable of caring for himself or performing routine daily 
health requirements due to his mental condition. 

•	 BLIND is defined as one who is totally blind or whose central 
field of acuity does not exceed 20/200 in the better eye with 
correcting lenses or whose visual acuity is limited to a field no 
greater than 20 degrees. 

	 The name(s) of the qualifying dependent(s) must be printed 
on Line 1C. Print on Line 1D the total number of qualifying 
individuals. Multiply Line 1D by $100 and print the result on 
Line 1E.

Line 2 – Credit for contributions to educational institutions 
– (R.S. 47:37) Taxpayers who donated computer equipment 
to educational institutions, are allowed a credit of forty percent 
(.40) of the value of the property donated from your Louisiana 
income tax. The recipient must certify the donation or contribution 
of property by using the Certificate of Donation, Form R-3400. 
This form is available on the Department’s website at www.
revenue.louisiana.gov. The completed certification form must 
be attached to the individual income tax return. On Line 2A, print 
the value of the property donated to an educational institution in 
Louisiana. Multiply the amount on Line 2A by forty percent (.40), 
and print the result on Line 2B. Round off this number to the 
nearest dollar.

Line 3 – CREDIT FOR CERTAIN FEDERAL CREDITS – (R.S. 
47:297(B)) Taxpayers are allowed a credit of ten percent (.10) 
of the credits taken on Lines 47 and 49 on Federal Form 1040, 
plus ten percent (.10) of any investment tax credit or jobs credit 
computed on Federal Form 3800. If Federal Form 1040A is used, 
the allowed credit is ten percent (.10) of the credit on Line 30 of 
the federal return. If the credit was not used on the federal return 

because of the alternative minimum tax, you must reduce this 
amount by the portion of the credit that was not used. Print the 
total federal credit on Line 3A. Multiply Line 3A by ten percent 
(.10), and enter the result, or $25, whichever is less, on Line 3B.

Additional nonrefundable credits Lines 4 through 9
Below, is a list of additional nonrefundable credits available 
for the taxable year ended December 31, 2007. Please print 
the credit description, identifying code, and the dollar amount 
claimed, in the appropriate spaces on Lines 5 through 10. Please 
Note: The Motion Picture Investment Credit and the Education 
Credit are pre-printed.

Example:

Credit Description	  Code 	 Amount of Credit Claimed

Vehicle Alternative Fuel 					   

Line 10—Total Nonrefundable Credits – Add Lines 1E, 2B, 3B, 
and 4 through 9. Print the result here and on Line 13B of Form 
IT–540B-NRA.

Code	credit  description

100 –	 Premium Tax — R.S. 47:227 provides a credit against 
Louisiana income tax for premium taxes paid during 
the preceding 12 months by an insurance company 
authorized to do business in Louisiana. The credit may 
be passed to individuals through certain legal entities 
(e.g. partnership). A schedule must be attached stating 
what entity(ies) paid the premium tax and generated the 
credit on behalf of the individual.

105 –	 Commercial Fishing — R.S. 47:297(C) provides a credit 
for the amount of gasoline and special fuels taxes paid 
for operating or propelling any commercial fishing boat. 
Attach a schedule listing all invoices and taxes paid.

110 –	 Family Responsibility — R.S. 47:297(F) provides a 
credit against an individual’s income tax for the amount 
contributed in a family responsibility program under the 
provisions of R.S. 46:449. The amount of this credit shall 
not exceed 331/3 percent (.333) of the contribution, or 
$200 per year, whichever is less.

115 –	 Small Town Doctor/Dentist — R.S. 47:297(H) provides 
a credit for a certified medical doctor possessing an 
unrestricted license from the State of Louisiana to 
practice medicine, or for a dentist licensed by the State 
of Louisiana to practice dentistry in certain geographic 
areas of Louisiana. The credit is limited to $5,000.

Instructions for Nonrefundable Tax Credits, Schedule G-Nra

2 0 6 5 0 0 00.



Code	credit  description

120 –	 Bone Marrow — R.S. 47:297(I) provides a credit for any 
individual taxpayer required to file a Louisiana tax return, 
acting as a business entity authorized to do business in 
the state, operating as either a sole proprietorship, a part-
ner in a partnership, or as a Subchapter S Corporation, for 
bone marrow donor expense.

125 –	 Law Enforcement Education — R.S. 47:297(J) pro-
vides a credit for certain law enforcement officers and 
specified employees of the Department of Public Safety 
and Corrections for specific post-secondary educational 
expenses incurred in the pursuit of an undergraduate 
degree related to law enforcement.

130 –	 First Time Drug Offenders — R.S. 47:297(K) provides a ​
credit for a taxpayer who provides full-time employment to 
an individual who has been convicted of a first time drug 
offense, and who is less than 25 years of age at the time 
of initial employment.

135 –	 Bulletproof Vest — R.S. 47:297(L) provides a credit 
for the purchase of a bulletproof vest for certain law 
enforcement ​personnel, as designated in the statute. The 
credit is limited ​to $100.

140 –	 Nonviolent Offenders — R.S.47:297 (O) provides a 
credit for a taxpayer who provides full-time employment 
to an ​individual who has been convicted of a first-time 
nonviolent offense. Please contact the Department for 
information on qualifying for this credit.

150 –	 Qualified Playgrounds — R.S. 47:6008 provides a credit 
against Louisiana income tax for donations to assist 
qualified playgrounds. The credit shall be an amount 
equal to the ​lesser of $1,000 or one-half of the value of 
the cash, ​equipment, goods, or services donated. Please 
contact the Department for information on qualifying for 
this credit. For ​taxable years 1993 through 2000, Acts 
405 of the 2005 Regular Legislative Session allows an 
amended return to be filed if this credit was not originally 
claimed. The amended return must be filed by December 
31, 2008.

155 –	 Debt Issuance — R.S. 47:6017 provides a credit against 
Louisiana income tax for the filing fee paid to the 
Louisiana State Bond Commission, which is incurred by 
an ​economic development corporation in the preparation 
and issuance of bonds.

175 –	 Donations of Materials, Equipment, Advisors, 
Instructors — R.S. 47:6012 provides a credit for employ-
ers within the state for donations of the latest technol-
ogy available in ​materials, equipment, or instructors to 
public training providers, secondary and postsecondary 
vocational-technical schools, apprenticeship programs 
registered with the Louisiana Department of Labor, or 
community colleges to assist in the development of 
training programs designed to meet industry needs. The 
credit is equal to 50% (.50) of the value of the donated 
materials, equipment, or services rendered by the instruc-
tor. When taken with other applicable credits, this credit 
cannot exceed 20% of the employer’s tax liability for any 
taxable year.

199 –	 Other — Reserved for future credits.

200 –	 Atchafalaya Trace — R.S. 25:1226.4 provides a credit 
to ​certain heritage-based cottage industries. You must 
attach a copy of your contract to the return.

202 –	 Organ Donation — R.S. 47:297(N) provides a credit to 
offset certain expenses incurred by an individual and/or 
spouse for a living organ donation.

Code	credit  description

204 –	 Household Expense for Physically and Mentally ​
Incapable Persons — R.S. 47:297.2 provides a credit 
against the individual income tax for a person who 
maintains a ​household that includes one or more 
dependents who ​are physically or mentally incapable of 
caring for themselves. The credit is equal to the applicable 
percentage of employment-related expenses allowable 
pursuant to Section 21 of the Internal Revenue Code.

206 –	 Vehicle Alternative Fuel — R.S. 47:38 provides a 
credit for the conversion of a vehicle to an alternative fuel 
source. Documentation verifying the conversion must be 
attached to the return.

208 –	 Previously Unemployed — R.S. 47:6004 provides that ​
business proprietors are possibly eligible for a credit for ​
hiring the previously unemployed.

210 –	 Recycling Credit — R.S. 47:6005 provides a credit for 
the ​purchase of certain equipment and/or service con-
tracts ​related to recycling. The credit must be certified by 
the Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality and a 
copy of the certification must be attached to the return.

212 –	 Basic Skills Training — R.S. 47:6009 provides a 
credit ​against Louisiana income tax for employers who 
pay for ​training to bring employees’ reading, writing, or 
mathematical ​skills to at least the 12th grade level. The 
credit is limited to $250 per participating employee, not to 
exceed $30,000 for the tax year.

220 –	 Dedicated Research — R.S. 51:2203 provides a credit 
of ​35 percent (.35) of a cash donation of $200,000 or 
more to the Dedicated Research Investment Fund, which 
is administered by the Louisiana Board of Regents. The 
Board of Regents must certify that the person is qualified 
for the credit. A copy of your certification must be attached 
to the return.

224 –	 New Jobs Credit — R.S. 47:34 and R.S. 47:287.749 
provide a credit to employers who establish or expand 
a business in the state. A schedule that includes the 
calculation of the credit must be attached to the return 
and must also include the following information: (1) 
name, address, and Social Security Number of each new 
employee; (2) highest number of full-time and qualified 
part-time employees during the previous year; (3) highest 
number of full-time and part-time employees during the 
current year; (4) number of new employees hired for new 
jobs created during this taxable year; and (5) amount 
of credit carried forward from the previous year. Please 
contact the Department of Revenue for information 
regarding this credit.

226 –	 Refund by Utilities — R.S. 47:287.664 provides a credit 
against Louisiana income tax for certain court ordered 
refunds made by utilities to its customers. Please contact 
the Department of Revenue for information regarding this 
credit.

228 –	 Eligible Re-entrants — R.S. 47:287.748 provides a 
credit to a taxpayer who employs an eligible re-entrant 
in Louisiana. An eligible re-entrant is defined as one who 
has been convicted of a felony and who have successfully 
completed the Intensive Incarceration Program as pro-
vided for in R.S. 15:574.4. Please contact the Department 
of Revenue for information regarding this credit.
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Code	credit  description

230 –	 Neighborhood Assistance — R.S. 47:35 and R.S. 
47:287.753 provide a credit for an entity engaged in the 
activities of providing neighborhood assistance, job train-
ing, education for individuals, community services, or 
crime prevention in the state of Louisiana. The tax credit 
is limited to seventy 70 percent (.70) of the actual amount 
contributed for investment in programs approved by the 
Commissioner of Administration or his successor. Such 
credit shall not exceed $250,000 annually. Please contact 
the Department of Revenue for information regarding this 
credit.

232 –	 Cane River Heritage — R.S. 47:6026 provides a credit for 
a heritage-based cottage industry located or to be located 
in the Cane River Heritage Area Development Zone. The 
taxpayer must enter into a contract with the Louisiana 
Department of Culture, Recreation, and Tourism, and a 
copy of the contract must be attached to the return.

234 –	 LA Community Economic Development — R.S. 47:6031 
provides a credit for the amount of money donated, con-
tributed, or represented by a sale below cost by the tax-
payer to a certified community development corporation 
or a certified community development financial institution. 
The credit must be certified by the Louisiana Department 
of Economic Development, and a copy of the certification 
must be attached to the return.

236 –	 Apprenticeship — R.S. 47:6033 provides a credit to 
employers equal to one (1) dollar for each hour of employ-
ment for an eligible apprentice, limited to 1,000 hours for 
each eligible apprentice. An eligible apprentice is a per-
son who has entered into a written apprentice agreement 
with an employer or an association of employers pursuant 
to a registered apprenticeship program or who is enrolled 
in a training program accredited by the National Center for 
Construction Education and Research. For more informa-
tion regarding this credit, please contact the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission.

251 –	 Motion Picture Investment — R.S. 47:6007 provides 
a ​credit for an individual taxpayer residing in Louisiana ​
who invests in a state-certified, motion picture production. 
For information on qualifying for this credit please refer to 
Revenue Information Bulletin 06-004 on the Department’s 
website.

252 –	 Research and Development — R.S. 47:6015 provides 
a ​credit for any taxpayer who claims a federal income 
tax ​credit under 26 U.S.C. §41(a) for increasing research 
activities.

253 –	 Historic Structures — R.S. 47:6019 provides a credit if 
the taxpayer incurs certain expenses during the rehabilita-
tion ​of a historic structure that is located in a Downtown 
Development District. For information on qualifying for 
this ​credit, please refer to Revenue Information Bulletin 
06-002 on the Department’s website.

254 –	 Digital Interactive Media — R.S.47:6022 provides a 
credit to individuals for the investment in businesses spe-
cializing in digital interactive media. The credit is obtained 
through the Department of Economic Development and 
documentation from that agency must be attached to the 
return.

Code	credit  description

256 –	 Motion Picture Employment of Resident — R.S. 
47:1125.1 provides a credit against Louisiana income ​tax 
for the employment of residents of Louisiana in ​connec-
tion with the production of a motion picture. The​ credit 
may flow to an individual via a partnership, limited ​liability 
company, Subchapter S Corporation, or other ​entities. 
Please refer to Revenue Information Bulletin 05-005 on the 
Department’s website.

257 –	 Capital Company — R.S. 51:1924 provides a credit 
for any person who invests in a certified Louisiana 
Capital Company. This credit must be approved by the 
Commissioner of the Office of Financial Institutions. You 
must attach a copy of your certification to the return.

258 –	 LCDFI — R.S. 51:3081 et seq. provides a credit to 
encourage the expansion of businesses in economi-
cally distressed areas. The Louisiana Office of Financial 
Institutions administers this program.

259 –	 New Markets — R.S. 47:6016 provides a credit if the 
taxpayer makes certain qualified low-income community 
investments, as defined in Section 45D of the Internal 
Revenue Code.

260 –	 Brownfields Investor Credit — R.S. 47:6021 provides 
a credit to individuals to encourage the cleanup, rede-
velopment, and productive reuse of brownfields sites in 
the state. The credit is obtained through the Louisiana 
Department of Economic Development and the Louisiana 
Department of Environmental Quality.

261 –	 Motion Picture Infrastructure — R.S. 47:6007(C)(2) 
provides a credit for an approved state-certified infrastruc-
ture project for a film, video, television, or digital produc-
tion or postproduction facility. The credit is equal to 40% 
(.40) of the base investment on a project that is in excess 
of $300,000. Please refer to Revenue Information Bulletin 
06-004 on the Department’s website.

299 –	 Other – Reserved for future credits.

300 –	 Biomed/University Research – R.S. 17:3389 provides 
a credit against the Louisiana individual income tax to 
persons who establish research activities either in a 
Biomedical or ​a University Research and Development 
Park. You must attach a copy of your contract to 
the return. The Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development certifies this credit.

305 –	 Tax Equalization – R.S. 47:3201 et. seq. provides a 
credit for tax equalization for certain businesses locating 
in Louisiana. You must attach a copy of your contract 
to ​the return. The Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development certifies this credit.

310 –	 Manufacturing Establishments – R.S. 47:4301 et seq. ​
provides a credit to certain manufacturing establishments ​
that have entered into a contract with the Department of ​
Economic Development. You must attach a copy of your ​
contract to the return.

315 –	 Enterprise Zone – R.S. 51:1781 et seq. provides a credit 
against the Louisiana individual income tax for private ​
sector investments in certain areas that are designated as 
“Enterprise Zones.” You must attach a copy of your con-
tract to the return. The Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development certifies this credit.

399 –	 Other – Reserved for future credits.
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General Information about Disaster Relief Credits
Federal Disaster Relief Credits
Louisiana provides a deduction for federal income taxes paid 
on Louisiana income. Generally, when the federal income 
tax liability is decreased by federal credits, the amount of the 
Louisiana income tax liability increases.

Act 25 of the First Extraordinary Session of 2006 expanded 
the relief granted to Louisiana taxpayers who claimed certain 
disaster credits granted for Hurricane Katrina or Hurricane Rita. 
To avoid paying additional income tax, Louisiana taxpayers 
who received these federal credits may increase the amount 
of their Louisiana federal income tax deduction by the amount 
of certain disaster relief credits claimed on your 2008 federal 
income tax form. Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC) 61:I.601 
designated the following federal credits qualify as disaster relief 
credits:

1. Employee Retention Credit

2. Work Opportunity Credit

3. Rehabilitation Tax Credit

4. Employer-Provided Housing Credit

5. Low Income Housing Credit

6. New Markets Tax Credit

For complete information about disaster relief credits, review 
LAC 61:I.601 available through the Department’s website at 
www.revenue.louisiana.gov.

Consult your tax advisor or contact the IRS for information 
concerning the federal credits. You must attach a copy of 
the appropriate federal form(s) to your return in order for 
your modified Louisiana federal income tax deduction to be 
allowed.

Instructions for Schedule H-NRA
If you have claimed federal disaster relief credits, complete 
Schedule H-NRA.

Line 1 – Print the amount of your federal income tax liability 
from Federal Form 1040, Line 56.

Line 2 – Print the amount of federal disaster relief credits 
claimed on your federal return. The federal disaster relief 
credits utilized for this year and allowed by the Internal 
Revenue Service (IRS) could be credits that are carried forward 
from 2005 or 2006. Attach a copy of your federal return which 
indicates the amount of the credit, a copy of Form 3800, and 
a copy of the appropriate IRS form in order to substantiate the 
amount of the credit.

Line 3 – Add the amounts from Lines 1 and 2 and print the 
result. Mark the box on Line 10E to indicate that your income 
tax deduction has been increased by the amount of federal 
disaster credits.
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Instructions for Schedule NRA-Duty Day Detail
The Louisiana income tax of a nonresident professional athlete 
is attributable to the Sports Facility Assistance Fund, as created 
by R.S. 39:100.1. Schedule NRA - 1 and Schedule NRA-Duty 
Day Detail must be attached to Form IT-540B-NRA in order to 
comply with the statute.

A professional athlete is defined as an athlete that either 
plays ​for a professional sports franchise or who is a member 
of a ​professional sports association or league. This reporting ​
requirement includes all employees who are active players, ​
players on the disabled list, and any other persons required to ​
travel and who do travel with and perform services on behalf of 
a professional athletic team on a regular basis. This includes, 
but is not limited to, coaches, managers, and trainers.

If more than one schedule is required, please appropriately ​
indicate the page numbering of the schedules.

NAME, ADDRESS, AND SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
Print your name, address and Social Security Number in the 
spaces provided.

Sports Franchise and League Affiliation
In the space provided, indicate the professional sports franchise 
and the professional sports association or league you are 
affiliated with. Please see the definitions below:

“Professional sports franchise” means a member team of a ​
professional sports association or league.

“Professional sports association or league” means any of the ​
following:

1.	 Professional Golfers Association of America (PGA);

2.	 National Football League (NFL);

3.	 National Basketball Association (NBA);

4.	 National Hockey League (NHL);

5.	 East Coast Hockey League (ECHL);

6.	 Pacific Coast League (PCL).

Lines 1 through 10 of Schedule NRA-Duty Day Detail.

Complete a single line of Schedule NRA-Duty Day Detail for 
each event in which income was earned in Louisiana at a sports 
facility.

An explanation of each column is given below.

DATES OF DUTY DAYS – In the columns designated “Dates 
of Duty Days,” print the beginning and ending dates for the 
duty days associated with the event. Duty Days are defined as 
follows:

“Duty days” means all days during the taxable year from the ​
beginning of the professional athletic team’s official preseason 
training period through the last game in which the team 
competes or is scheduled to compete.

Duty days shall also include days on which a member of I.	
a professional athletic team renders a service for a team 
on a date that does not fall within the period described in 
the general definition of duty days above, for example, 
participation in instructional leagues, the Pro Bowl, or 
other promotional caravans. Rendering a service includes 
conducting training and rehabilitation activities, but only if 
conducted at the facilities of the team. 

Included within duty days shall be game days, practice II.	
days, days spent at team meetings, promotional ​caravans, 
and preseason training camps, and days served with the 
team through all postseason games in which the team 
competes or is scheduled to compete. 

Duty days for any person who joins a team during the III.	
season shall begin on the day that person joins the team, 
and for a person who leaves a team shall end on the day 
that person leaves the team. If a person switches teams 
during a taxable year, a separate duty day calculation shall 
be made for the period that person was with each team.

Days for which a member of a professional athletic team IV.	
is not compensated and is not rendering services for the 
team in any manner, including days when the member of 
a professional athletic team has been suspended without 
pay and prohibited from performing any services for the 
team, shall not be treated as duty days. 

Days for which a member of a professional athletic team is V.	
on the disabled list shall be presumed not to be duty days 
spent in the state. They shall, however, be included in total 
duty days spent within and without the state. 

Travel days that do not involve either a game, practice, VI.	
team meeting, promotional caravan, or other similar team 
event are not considered duty days spent in the state, but 
shall be considered duty days spent within and without the 
state.

DUTY DAYS IN LOUISIANA – In the column designated 
“Number of Duty Days in Louisiana,” print the total duty days 
associated with the event. 

NAME OF SPORTS FACILITY – In the column designated 
“Sports Facility at Which Income Was Earned” print the name 
of the arena /stadium/course where the event was held. For 
example: Louisiana Superdome, Baton Rouge Centroplex, 
Zephyr Field. 

LOCATION OF SPORTS FACILITY
In the column designated “Location of Sports Facility” print the 
name of the Louisiana city in which the facility is located.

Line 11: Total Louisiana Duty Days – Print the total of “Number 
of Duty Days in Louisiana” here.
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Line 1: Total Louisiana Duty Days – Print the amount from 
Line 11 from Schedule NRA - Duty Day Detail. If more than one 
Schedule NRA - Duty Day Detail has been prepared, sum the 
amounts from Line 11 of each schedule prepared.

Line 2: Print Total Duty Days Everywhere – This is the total of all 
“Duty Days” associated with the athletic season. See definition of 
“Duty Days” on page 13.

Line 3: Ratio of Louisiana Duty Days to Total Duty Days – Divide 
Line 1 by Line 2 and print result here. Carry out to two decimal 
places in the percentage; for example, 24.19 percent. Do not 
round up. 

Line 4: Total Compensation – Print the amount of total 
compensation received for services rendered as a member of a 
professional athletic team. The amount(s) to include are defined 
below.

Total compensation includes salaries, wages, bonuses, and any 
other type of compensation paid during the taxable year to a ​
member of a professional athletic team for services performed in 
that year. 

i.	 Total compensation shall not include strike benefits, ​
severance pay, termination pay, contract or option-year 
buyout payments, expansion or relocation payments, or 
any other payments not related to services rendered to 
the team. 

ii.	 For purposes of this rule, “bonuses” subject to the ​alloca-
tion procedures described in this Subsection, are:

(a)	 bonuses earned as a result of play during the ​sea-
son, including performance bonuses, bonuses paid 
for championship, playoff or bowl games played by 
a team, or for selection to all-star league or other 
honorary positions; and 

(b)	 bonuses paid for signing a contract, unless all of the 
following conditions are met: 

(i)	 the payment of the signing bonus is not condi-
tional upon the signee playing any games for 
the team, or performing any subsequent ser-
vices for the team, or even making the team; 

(ii)	 the signing bonus is payable separately from 
the salary and any other compensation; and 

(iii)	 the signing bonus is nonrefundable. 

Total compensation for services rendered as a member of a ​
professional athletic team means the total compensation received 
during the taxable year for services rendered

i.	 from the beginning of the official preseason training ​
period through the last game in which the team competes 
or is scheduled to compete during that taxable year; and 

ii.	 during the taxable year on a date that does not fall within 
the period in clause “i” above; for example, participation 
in instructional leagues, the Pro Bowl, or promotional ​
caravans. 

Line 5: Louisiana Income - Multiply Line 4 by the percentage on 
Line 3. Print the amount here and on Line 8 of Form IT-540B-
NRA. This is the amount of your “total compensation” earned in 
Louisiana.

Instructions for Schedule NRA-1

Schedule NRA-1

	 1.	 Total Louisiana Duty Days - See Instructions.  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .                       

	 2.	 Total Duty Days Everywhere - See Instructions.  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .                    

	 3.	 Divide Line 1 by Line 2 and print result here. 
		  Carry out to two decimal places in the percentage. (e.g. 24.19%)  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .             

	 4.	 Total compensation - See instructions. .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   

	 5.	 Multiply Line 4 by the ratio on Line 3. Print result here and on Line 8 of Form 540B-NRA.  . 

This form must be attached to Form IT-540B-NRA along with Form Schedule NRA-Duty Day Detail (page 14).



In general, you will be charged interest and penalties if you do not 
pay all amounts due on or before May 15, 2008. If the return is for 
a fiscal year, you will be charged interest and penalties if you do 
not pay on or before the 15th day, of the 5th month after the close 
of the taxable year. 

Important: The granting of an extension DOES NOT relieve 
you of your obligation to pay all tax amounts due by the 
original due date.

Interest – If your 2008 calendar year income tax amount is not 
paid by May 15, 2009, you will be charged interest on the unpaid 
tax from May 16, 2009, until the date of payment for the balance 
of tax due. The interest rate varies from year to year and is not 
determined until the latter part of 2008. Please see Revenue 
Information Bulletin (RIB) 09-001 for the 2009 interest rate. The RIB 
is available on the Department’s website. In order to compute the 
INTEREST RATE PER DAY, divide the 2009 interest rate by 365 
and carry out to seven places to the right of the decimal. Example: 
Assume the 2009 interest rate is determined to be 17% (0.17) per 
annum. Divide 0.17 by 365. 0.17/365 = .0004657, which equals 
the INTEREST RATE PER DAY. NOTE!! You must carry out your 
computation to 7 places to the right of the decimal point.

Interest Calculation Worksheet

1 Number of days late from *May 15, 2009	
(*or days late from fiscal year due date)

2 Interest rate per day (See instructions above.)  0.
3 Interest rate (Multiply Line 1 by Line 2.)

4 Amount you owe (Form IT-540BNRA, Line 21.) .00

5 Total interest due (Multiply Line 4 by Line 3, and 
print the result on Form IT-540BNRA, Line 22.) .00

Delinquent Filing Penalty – A delinquent filing penalty will be 
charged for failure to file a timely return on or before May 15, 
2009, for calendar year filers, your fiscal year due date, or your 
approved extension date. A penalty of 5 percent (.05) of the tax 
due accrues if the delay in filing is not more than 30 days. An 
additional 5 percent (.05) is assessed for each additional 30 days, 
or fraction thereof, during which the failure to file continues. By 
law, the maximum delinquent filing penalty that can be imposed 
is 25 percent (.25) of the tax due.

Delinquent Filing Penalty Calculation Worksheet

1 Number of days late from *May 15, 2009
(*or days late from fiscal year due date)

2 Divide Line 1 by 30 (days). ÷30

3
Number of 30-day periods (If fraction of
days remain, increase to nearest whole
number.) 

4 30-day penalty percentage .05

5
Total penalty percentage (Multiply Line 3	
by Line 4. The result cannot exceed
25 percent [.25].)

6 Amount you owe (Form IT-540BNRA, Line 21.) .00

7
Total amount of delinquent filing penalty due 
(Multiply Line 6 by Line 5 and print 	
the result on Form IT-540BNRA, Line 23.) .00

Important Notice: The sum of BOTH the delinquent filing and 
delinquent payment penalties cannot exceed 25 percent (.25) of 
the tax due. Thirty (30) day increments are used for the calculation 
of the delinquent filing and delinquent payment penalties. These 
penalties are based on the date the Department receives the 
return and/or payment, not the date the envelope is postmarked.

Delinquent Payment Penalty – If you fail to pay 90 percent 
(.90) of the tax due by the due date, or fiscal year due date, a 
delinquent payment penalty ​will be assessed. A penalty of 0.5 
percent (.005) of the tax not paid by ​the due date will accrue for 
each 30 days, or fraction thereof, during ​which the failure to 
pay continues. This penalty cannot exceed 25 ​percent (.25) of 
the tax due.

To determine if you owe a delinquent payment penalty, answer 
the following questions:

1. 	 Are you paying a 2007 tax liability after May 15, 2009?

2.	 Have you paid at least 90 percent (.90) of total tax due?

a.	Print the amount from Form IT-540BNRA,  
Line 14.  .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    	 .00

b.	Print the amount from Form IT-540BNRA, 
Line 15A. .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .  	 .00

c.	Print the amount from Form IT-540BNRA,  
Line 15B. .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .  	 .00

d.	Subtract Lines “b” and “c” from Line 
“a” above. .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .  	 .00

e.	Multiply Line “d” by 10 percent (.10). .    .    	 .00

f.	 Print the amount from Form IT-540BNRA,  
Line 21.  .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    	 .00

If the amount on Line “f” is less than or equal to the amount on Line 
“e,” ​you have paid at least 90 percent (.90) of the total tax due. If 
the amount on Line “f” is greater than the amount on Line “e,” you 
have not paid at least 90 percent (.90) of the total tax due.

Delinquent Payment Penalty Calculation Worksheet

1 Number of days late from *May 15, 2009
(*or days late from fiscal year due date)

2 Divide Line 1 by 30 days. ÷30

3
Number of 30-day periods (If fraction of
days remain, increase the amount to the 
nearest whole number.) 

4 30-day penalty percentage .005

5
Total penalty percentage (Multiply Line 3 
by Line 4. The result cannot exceed 25 
percent [.25].)

6 Amount you owe (Form IT-540BNRA, Line 21.) .00

7
Total amount of Delinquent Payment Penalty 
(Multiply Line 6 by Line 5 and print the result 
on Form IT-540BNRA, Line 24.) .00

If you are paying a 2008 tax liability after May 15, 2009, AND 
have not ​paid at least 90 percent (.90) of the total tax due, then 
you owe the ​delinquent payment penalty. Use the worksheet 
below to calculate that penalty.

Underpayment Penalty – You may be charged an Underpayment 
Penalty if: (A) your tax deficiency is greater than $1,000; and (B) 
your ​filing status is either single, married filing separately, head of ​
household, or qualifying widow(er). If your filing status is married 
filing jointly, you may be charged an Underpayment Penalty if 
your tax ​deficiency is greater than $2,000. In order to determine 
if an ​underpayment penalty is due and to compute the amount 
of the ​underpayment penalty, you must obtain Form R-210NRA, 
Nonresident Professional Athlete Underpayment Return.

Interest and Penalty Calculation Worksheets
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